[Ar-muf-in] n. 1.Random Musings of Another Faceless Name

Relationships….getting over the “Blah” – Eowyn’s MySpace Blog |

Relationships….getting over the “Blah” – Eowyn’s MySpace Blog |.

This Is Worth reading…

As of late, I’ve become a bit of a fan of Eowyn [I have all her albums to date] and like the way she shares her faith and her heart. She’s gotta be one of the most evangelic Christian artists out there. I sincerely believe she cares about her fans, and youth in general.

There’s not a lot like that today.

Back in the early days of Christian music [Think Jesus Movement, 1960’s ~ 1970’s], the main intent was to bring people to Jesus, therefore they had F*R*E*3 concerts, and then took up a freewill offering at the end.

Nowadays, it seems that it’s all about the MoNeY$, and in saying this a few bands come to mind:

  • Family Force Five
  • Relient K
  • Switchfoot

Now don’t get me wrong, I like the sounds of these bands, but they never seem to really have anything to say from a faith standpoint. I believe, if you’re gonna call yourself a Christian Band, you should have a Christian message in at least 50% of your lyrics. and I’m being generous. I mean, there’s bands/artists out there with no real claim to even going to church that have more faith-base to their lyrics than most “Christian” bands! Can anyone tell me what’s wrong with this picture?

Again, I’m not going full legalism here, I like a good, fun song as much as the next guy, and I’ll even admit I like a good love song when I hear it [yes, I’m a sap! LOL!]. But if you’re gonna claim his name, you gotta have the message to back it up!

Rant over!

Back to Eowyn–Below is my favorite Eowyn song, Hands Of Time:

2 responses

  1. Nobody

    Actually, You want Evangelistic music, the Hip-Hop Scene is the most Evangelic of this time frame we are living in. Extreme content that is so controversial because of the Evangelical content within the songs. Reach Records is probably the most up front and in your face evangelical preaching you will find in a song, with guys who live the lifestyle that they are singing about. I agree with the post, but Family Force 5 isn’t even a christian band, they claimed in an interview that they party as much as the next and live lives full of sin (It’s just their music is clean).

    Before you go ripping artists limb for limb you may also want to recognize some things such as “Do you even know these guys?”. Most people in the everyday world know about these artists, but do not know them personally.

    You also mentioned that if your going to be a “Christian” band, you believed they should have a christian message in at least 50% of their lyrics. So basically what you are saying is that it’s OK to be a christian band, but you have to be religious. That right there is the biggest sack of crap that I have ever heard.

    In the secular music scene you have artists that can sing about their “main agenda” whether it be partying, having sex, drinking, or what they are all about. But you also see a lot of “Just having fun”, or a song that could be about the Artists favorite spot out in the country on a beautiful summer day. It’s completely OK for a secular artist to just kick out a song that is completely about feelings, but if a Christian Artist expresses himself in the same manner he gets criticized as being a hypocrite because he doesn’t mention God in a song that has nothing to do with a church service or bringing someone to repentance.

    My biggest rejection to this is the simple fact that you cannot argue someone into salvation, likewise when you shove the Gospel down someones throat, they reject it. Before I was saved, you would have never caught me at a concert with a bunch of Christians because the atmosphere is like going to a church service.

    The boys over at Syntax Records know about this tactic which is why you don’t see the content in the music, but if you go to the concert you get surprised with an altar call, and did I mention that they do a lot of “Free” concerts?

    Besides, This blog is coming from someone who listens to secular music AND christian music, before you throw the stone, you may want to look and make sure there isn’t a window in it’s projection path.

    IF your going to claim his name, you better have a LIFESTYLE to back it up.
    Music is Art, and by no means should be used to judge anybody, especially those in which you do not know personally. Most music is based off of poetry, and the message thereof should not be a judgment of whether or not they are a christian artist or band.

    Switchfoot, Relient K, and Family Force 5 I do have to agree with you on though… The way they used the Christian scene as a crutch and then dove into mainstream made a lot of people scratch their heads, however nobody can really honestly say whether it was for the money or not. We do not know the lifestyle of these people unless we follow up on interviews etc…. but in the end, would it be worth it?

    We are to be judged according to how we judge and if we condemn an artist based on the content of his art, how much more are we going to be judged for not giving mercy to a man who may be living a clean lifestyle? Do you know for a fact that these artists don’t go to church? Do you know for a fact that they live a secular lifestyle? or do you just say that they do because the music isn’t a religious Sunday worship service? I don’t know about you, but I refuse to slam on any “Christian” artist and/or band based off the amount of “Content”.

    I don’t want to be judged that much more for being a critique to someone I know nothing about, and if you follow up on their lifestyles too much you are nothing more than one who indulges in gossip and slander… where does it end?

    2009/12/26 at 22:11

    • fuzzylizard530

      I know about the Evangelicality[is there a word for this?] of the Christian Hip-Hop scene, but my frustration is with the Christian Rock/Alternative/Metal scene. If they can do like the Hip-Hop scene does, and draw them in with the music, and then preach to ’em afterward, then great! Even though I do find that to be a little deceptive [I admit I have conflicting thoughts/feelings on this method, but I digress… All things to all people?()]

      There aren’t as many “Christian” R/A/M groups that preach now, as there were in the beginning of Christian Music. Of course, there’s alot more gone indie, because Christian Music Execs can be just as bad as the others. [Personally, I don’t believe one person should be allowed to capitalize on someone else’s creativity.]

      I’m not here to slam on any band in particular, especially since, [yes,] I do listen to Secular/Mainstream music. That would make me somewhat of a hypocrite, Wouldn’t it? Though, being a musician maybe you can understand staying current with musical trends [I know there’s an “official” term for this, but I’m drawing a blank.], and don’t think I’m using this to justify listening to Secular Music. I happen to know you listen to it as well, though probably not nearly to the same extent that I do.

      Also, not everyone gets into hip-hop [I’m more of a headbanger myself, though I do listen to hip-hop once in a while, and it’s usually old-school when I do, with VERY few exceptions!]

      You covered alot of stuff that I didn’t think of — and fully agree with — and thank you for being blunt with it.

      In the secular music scene you have artists that can sing about their “main agenda” whether it be partying, having sex, drinking, or what they are all about. But you also see a lot of “Just having fun”, or a song that could be about the Artists favorite spot out in the country on a beautiful summer day. It’s completely OK for a secular artist to just kick out a song that is completely about feelings, but if a Christian Artist expresses himself in the same manner he gets criticized as being a hypocrite because he doesn’t mention God in a song that has nothing to do with a church service or bringing someone to repentance.

      All I can say to this: Christian critics are highly legalistic. Again, I think a christian group can have a just-for-fun, sappy-love-, or even a secular-cover* song and still be right with God.

      *I will say there are limitations here, but I’m not going to list them all here. [http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Philippians+4:7-9&version=AMP]

      2010/01/13 at 03:56

Leave a Reply

