[Ar-muf-in] n. 1.Random Musings of Another Faceless Name

Your Account Will Be Deleted…. NOT!

I logged on to Facebook this evening, and, after adding my brother to my friends, happened to notice a message in my inbox. Upon open it I happened to read the following text:

Facebook is recently becoming very overpopulated,there have been many members complaining that Facebook is becoming very slow. Records show that the reason is that there are too many non-active Facebook members and, on the other side, too many new Facebook members.

We will be sending this message around to see if members are active or not. If you are active please send to at least 15 other users using Copy+ Paste to show that you are still active. *Those who do not send this message within 2 weeks will be deleted without hesitation to create more space.*

Send this message to all your friends and to show me that you’re still active and you will not be deleted.

Founder of Facebook,
Mark Zuckerberg

At first, I thought, “Whatever” and figured if they wanted to delete me for being inactive, that would help me settle a personal dichotomy I’ve been tossing around in my head for about a year now…

Then I switched to instinct mode.

I remembered a website I heard about in High School, called Snopes and decided to look into it.

IT’S A HOAX! If you have time, at least skim the following article to see full extent of this junk. [http://www.snopes.com/inboxer/hoaxes/overload.asp]

So don’t forward the message, because that’s what REALLY Causes the Slowdowns of the internet as a whole!

One last thing…

If something sounds too good to be true, or like you may be getting the shaft, do a little bit of research before you forward it to everyone you know. Please!

Leave a Reply

